43321873_10161112829730615_458188940793348096_o_edited.jpg

EMPLACEMENT

La Municipalité de Cascapédia-Saint-Jules est située dans la région administrative de la Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Elle fait partie de la MRC de Bonaventure sur la rive sud de la péninsule. La municipalité couvre 106,44 kilomètres carrés de territoire. Le territoire est bordé au nord par le parc national de la Gaspésie, au sud-est par New Richmond et au sud-ouest par Maria.

On peut accéder à la municipalité par la route 299 qui traverse la Péninsule du sud au nord, partant de New Richmond, passant par Cascapédia-Saint-Jules, atteignant le parc, et finissant à Sainte-Anne des Monts du côté nord. La route 132 est l'autoroute principale des deux côtés de la péninsule.

Il y a deux sites de beauté naturelle présents à Cascapédia-Saint-Jules. La première est une vue majestueuse sur les monts Chic-Chocs. La seconde, qui traverse la ville de part en part, est la rivière Cascapédia, mondialement connue pour son saumon atlantique. Une caractéristique importante de Cascapédia-St-Jules : Elle est presque entourée d'eau, en effet, bordant la baie des Chaleurs au sud, la rivière Cascapédia au centre et la rivière Anger au nord. Il y a aussi de nombreux lacs et ruisseaux.

photo_casc2_edited.jpg

L'HISTOIRE

En 1929, George V, roi d'Angleterre, déclare officiellement que ce territoire, qui faisait partie du canton de New Richmond, sera détaché et qu'une organisation municipale distincte sera créée sous le nom de « Grand Cascapédia ».

En 1948, George VI, roi d'Angleterre, déclare officiellement que ce territoire, qui faisait partie du canton de Maria, soit détaché et qu'une organisation municipale distincte soit créée sous le nom de « Saint-Jules ».

Bien avant cela, cependant, la proximité de la forêt et ses ressources abondantes ont incité les Irlandais, les Écossais, les Acadiens et les Loyalistes à fonder et à bâtir un village ici.

En 1878, la rivière Cascapédia, un mode de vie campagnard et de grands champs verts ont amené le marquis de Lorne et son épouse, la princesse Louise, fille de la reine Victoria, à construire "The Guide House" qui existe aujourd'hui sous le nom de "Lorne Cottage". Entre 1878 et 1893, les gouverneurs généraux bénéficiaient de l'usage de droits de pêche exclusifs sur la rivière Cascapédia.

Screen Shot 2019-01-28 at 9.28.19 AM.png

L'HISTOIRE

En 1883, le marquis de Lansdowne, gouverneur général, fit construire le camp de pêche "New Derreen", du nom de son domaine en Irlande. En 1893, New Derreen et ses droits de pêche ont été vendus et divisés le long de la rivière. Toujours vers 1893, Lord Aberdeen, gouverneur général de l'époque, vendit Lorne Cottage et ses pourvoiries aux Américains, Barnes et Spalding. Depuis, les camps de pêche et la rivière Cascapédia sont la principale source de revenus des résidents des deux municipalités.

Depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, les Gaspésiens exploitent également la ressource de la forêt, et c'est ainsi que les municipalités de Saint-Jules et de Grand Cascapédia ont ouvert leur scierie, qui a assuré la survie d'une partie de la population.

Dans les années 1960, les progrès économiques et le développement des services commerciaux, publics et parapublics créent de nouvelles opportunités d'emploi pour les résidents. En 1965, l'usine Consolidated Bathurst ouvre ses portes et devient l'un des moteurs de la vie économique des deux municipalités. Enfin, en 1999, les municipalités de Saint-Jules et de Grand Cascapédia sont officiellement regroupées (fusionnées) par le ministère des Affaires municipales pour devenir la municipalité de Cascapédia-Saint-Jules.

Screen Shot 2019-01-28 at 9.28.19 AM.png

STATISTIQUES

  • 33% de la population est francophone, 50% de la population est anglophone et 17% de la population est bilingue.

  • L'âge médian de la population est de 45 ans et 85% de la population a plus de 15 ans (selon le recensement de 2006)

  • La commune est composée de 338 logements privés et 315 sont occupés

  • La majorité des résidents travaillent dans l'agriculture ou dans les ressources industrielles.

  • La municipalité est devenue une destination touristique pour les Américains et les Européens qui viennent visiter pour le sport de la pêche au saumon.
     

    Indice de développement 2006

APPROCHE DE PLANIFICATION STRATÉGIQUE

  • Les priorités pour la Municipalité de Cascapédia-Saint-Jules sont le développement et le maintien de notre culture, tels que : les sports et loisirs, les services artistiques, patrimoniaux et familiaux. Embellissement, tel que : enseignes, activités qui encouragent l'embellissement des propriétés, maintien de la propreté de notre communauté. Et le développement des infrastructures résidentielles, touristiques, agricoles et municipales.

  • À partir des priorités de développement choisies par le conseil municipal, à partir d'une liste d'idées fournies par nos résidents lors d'une assemblée publique de consultation, une liste a été constituée pour inclure les partenaires possibles, les montants approximatifs et un échéancier approximatif pour chaque idée. La Municipalité, avec ses partenaires, tentera de réaliser chaque projet dans les délais impartis, cependant, tout dépend de la disponibilité des fonds. (Voir Annexe A)

FORCES

Town Fire Hall

Youth Center

Community Center

  • Pompiers

  • Premiers intervenants

  • De nombreux bénévoles

  • Bulletin municipal mensuel

  • Bibliothèque

  • La rivière Cascapédia et ses camps de pêche

  • Musée de la Rivière Cascapédia

  • Salon de thé Lady Amherst

  • Festival d'automne !

  • Espaces ouverts

  • De nouvelles constructions et une croissance migratoire positive

  • Situé sur la route 299

  • Sentiers de motoneige et VTT de passage

  • Communauté bilingue très importante pour les destinations touristiques

  • Situé à proximité du sentier pédestre des Appalaches et des monts ChicChocs

  • Faible taux d'imposition

PRÉOCCUPATION


L'une des principales préoccupations de la municipalité est de maintenir le faible taux d'imposition, car cela s'est avéré être la principale raison pour laquelle les personnes choisissent de vivre ici et d'élever leur famille. S'il est important pour notre développement de maintenir un faible taux d'imposition, il est également essentiel de maintenir et d'améliorer les services à nos citoyens. Cela nous amène à notre plan de développement et à nous concentrer sur la réalisation du plus grand nombre de nos projets possible.
 

VISION

L'une des principales raisons de joindre les deux villes était le fait qu'ensemble, elles formeraient une municipalité plus forte. Les forces positives de chaque communauté profiteraient à la nouvelle Communauté et, ensemble, elles seraient mieux à même d'avancer et de réussir dans tous les aspects de la vie communautaire, car chaque individu serait en mesure de profiter des avantages économiques et sociaux du nouvel arrangement.

L'un des objectifs de chaque municipalité est de se promouvoir; sa responsabilité est de favoriser le développement économique et la croissance de la Ville afin qu'elle puisse offrir de meilleurs services à sa population.

Screen Shot 2019-01-28 at 9.29.32 AM.png

Email: cascapediastjules.loisirs@globetrotter.net

Phone: 418-392-4042
Fax:  418-392-6004

Office Hours: 
Tuesday: 8 am-12pm and 1:30 pm-4 pm
Thursday: 8 am-12p
m and 1:30 pm-4 pm
Friday: 8 am-12p
m and 1:30 pm-4 pm

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

About

LOCATION

The Municipality of Cascapedia-Saint-Jules is situated in the administrative region of Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine. It is within the MRC of Bonaventure on the southern shores of the peninsula. The municipality covers 106.44 squared kilometres of territory.

The territory is bordered in the north by the Gaspésie National Park, in the south-east by New Richmond, and the south-west by Maria.

One can access the municipality by Route 299 which crosses the Peninsula from south to north, starting in New Richmond, passing through Cascapedia-Saint-Jules, reaching the park, and finishing in St. Anne des Monts on the north side. Route 132 is the main highway on both sides of the peninsula.

There are two sites of natural beauty present in Cascapedia-Saint-Jules. The first is a majestic view of the Chic-Choc Mountains. The second, which crosses the town from one side to the other, is the Cascapedia River, known worldwide for its Atlantic salmon. An important feature of Cascapédia-St-Jules: It is almost surrounded by water, in fact, bordering the Bay of Chaleur to the south, Cascapedia River in the center and the Anger River to the north. There are also many lakes and streams.


HISTORY


In 1929, George V, King of England, officially declared that this territory, which had been part of the New Richmond Township, be detached and a separate municipal organization be created under the name "Grand Cascapedia."

 

In 1948, George VI, King of England, officially declared that this territory, which had been part of the Maria Township, be detached and a separate municipal organization be created under the name "Saint-Jules."

 


Long before that, however, the proximity of the forest and its abundant resources encouraged the Irish, Scottish, Acadian and Loyalist people to found and build a village here.

In 1878, the Cascapedia River, a country lifestyle and large green fields brought the Marquis of Lorne and his wife, Princess Louise, daughter of Queen Victoria, to build "The Guide House" which exists today as the "Lorne Cottage." Between 1878 and 1893, governor generals benefited from the use of exclusive fishing rights on the Cascapedia River.

In 1883, the Marquis of Lansdowne, Governor-General had built the fishing camp "New Derreen," named for his estate in Ireland. In 1893, New Derreen and its fishing rights were sold and divided along the River. Also around 1893, Lord Aberdeen, Governor General of the time, sold Lorne Cottage and its outfitters to the Americans, Barnes and Spalding. Since then, fishing camps and the Cascapedia River have been the main source of income for residents of both municipalities.

Since the end of the nineteenth century, Gaspesians also exploited the resource of the forest, and thus the municipalities of Saint-Jules and Grand Cascapedia opened its sawmill, which ensured the survival of part of the population. In the 1960s, economic progress and the development of commercial, public and parapublic services created new employment opportunities for residents. In 1965, the Consolidated Bathurst mill opened and became one of the driving forces of economic life of the two municipalities.

Finally, in 1999, the municipalities of Saint-Jules and Grand Cascapedia were officially combined (merged) by the Minister of Municipal Affairs to become the municipality of Cascapedia-Saint-Jules.


STATISTICS
 

  • 33% of the population is francophone, 50% of the population is anglophone and 17% of the population is bilingual.

  • The median age of the population is 45 years old and 85% of the population is older than 15 years (according to the census of 2006)

  • The municipality is made up of 338 private lodgings and 315 are occupied

  • The majority of the residents work in agriculture or in industrial resources.

  • The municipality has become a tourist destination for Americans and Europeans who come to visit for the sport of salmon fishing.
     

    Development index 2006



     

 

 

 

 

 

STRATEGIC PLANNING APPROACH
 

The priorities for the Municipality of Cascapedia-Saint-Jules are the development and maintenance of our culture, such as: sports and leisure, artistic, heritage and family services. Beautification, such as: signs, activities that encourage the beautifying of properties, keeping our community clean. And development in residential, tourist, agriculture and municipal infrastructure.

Based on the development priorities chosen by the Municipal Council, from a list of ideas provided by our residents at a public consultation meeting, a list was made up to include possible partners, the approximate amounts and an approximate time frame for each idea. The Municipality, along with its partners, will try and complete each project in the time frame allotted, however, these all depend on funding being available. (See Annex A)


STRENGTHS

Fire department
First responders
Many volunteers
Monthly municipal newsletter
Library
The Cascapedia River and its fishing camps
Musée de la Rivière Cascapédia and Lady Amherst Tea Room
Fallfest !
Open spaces
New constructions and a positive migratory growth
Located on Route 299
Snowmobile and ATV trails passing through
Bilingual community which is very important for tourist destinations
Located near the Appalachian Hiking Trail and the ChicChocs Mountains
Low tax rate


 

 

PREOCCUPATIONS

One of the main preoccupations of the Municipality is to maintain the low tax rate, as this has been found to be a main reason for people choosing to live here and raise their families. While it is important for our development to keep the tax rate low, it is also essential to maintain and improve services to our citizens. This leads us to our development plan and to focus on completing as many of our projects as possible.
 

 

                       Municipal Town Hall / Fire Hall             Youth Center                         Community Center 



VISION


One of the main reasons for joining the two towns was the fact that together they would be a stronger Municipality. The positive forces of each community would benefit the new Community and together it would be better able to move forward and succeed in all aspects of Community life as each individual would be able to enjoy the economic and social advantages of the new arrangement.

One of the objectives of every Municipality is to promote itself; its responsibility is to encourage the economic development and growth of the Town so that it can provide better services to its people.